Updated – How to get a Thai Driving License in Chonburi, Thailand?

Hello guys!!! So I just recently got my five-year private motorcycle driving license at the Chonburi Province Department of Land Transport. By the way, I have my 2-year Thai driving license that expired a year ago. So I’m not sure if Im going to be considered a new applicant or for a renewal. But since they gave me a five-year driving license I guessed they allowed my old license to get renewed. Anyway, this is how I got it.

For foreigners, before you go to the Department of Land Transport (DLT), you need to secure the following documentary requirements:

  1. You can get a residence certificate from your country’s embassy in Thailand or the Thai Immigration Office. I got mine from Thai Immigration in Sri Racha because it’s way easier than getting it from my embassy. But before you go to the Immigration office you will have to ask for a photocopy of your address’s house registration ( we call it a blue book) from your landlady including their Thai national ID. A photocopy of your passport’s first and visa pages and a 300 Baht fee. I got my residence certificate in less than one hour.
  2. Get a medical certificate from any clinic or hospital. I got mine from a small clinic near my apartment for 120 Baht. Tell the doctor the purpose of your medical certificate. They will just get your BP, weight, and height and you have your medical certificate already.
  3. Photocopy the first page of your passport including the visa page. And of course, do not forget to bring your passport along with the photocopies.
  4. I have my old Thai driving license that expired a year ago, so I also bring it with me.

For new driving license applicants in Thailand, it is easier if you have a driving license from your country because they will just kind of convert it to a Thai driving license and you don’t have to take the exam.

So, when all my documents are ready I went to the DLT office in Chonburi.

When you arrived at the office head to the 4th floor that’s where the driving licensing office is located.

When you get into the office, fall in line at the document checking where the staff will check all of your documents. Some people at the office can speak English so I had no problem with my transaction. And they were also nice, I was lucky.

After they check your documents, they will lead you to a room where you have to do some eye tests, basically lights and traffic colors. When you finished with the eye test, the staff will bring your document outside where you need to wait for your name to be called for payment. I just paid 155 Baht for my motorcycle driving license. And the last part is the taking of photos and the release of the ID card. The whole process took me less than two hours.

One response to “Updated – How to get a Thai Driving License in Chonburi, Thailand?”

  1. Doesn’t work like this anymore. Even you going to renewal of the license you must get appointment first, that you get by going to land transport office, they’ll give a slip where is the date for renewal and before that you must watch 1 hour video at your home and print (on phone pdf) for proof you watched the video. I’m not sure it have to print out for the paper or not. And what I hear from others they will give you form which have 5 question (no idea what they ask) and if you pass you go for eye check, traffic light test or and deep sight test.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started